A Quick Guide To Char Dham Yatra

The Char Dham of Uttarakhand are known as the four important pilgrimage sites which are a must to visit for Hindus. These places are Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath, and combined called as Char Dham Yatra. In each of these places, you can find the most magnificent idols of the presiding deity, inside a temple structure that is centuries old and which are visited by thousands every year.

What Is The Uttarakhand Chardham Yatra All About?

The Uttarakhand Char Dham Yatra usually begins in the Yamunotri temple from where it proceed to the Gangotri temple, and then moves over to the Kedarnath temple and culminates at the Badrinath temple. The reason why the route of the Chardham is given in this manner is to stress on the fact that pilgrims from make a visit to them together on a journey that begins in the left and then moves to the right.

Important Points About The Uttarakhand Chardham Yatra

A key aspect to note about the Chardhams is that they are not related to just one God, but to many. During the journey, the pilgrim will visit a Vishnu temple, Shaivite temple, and two Devi Temples. Hence it is not one to be undertaken by a single sect but many sects. The journey done by the pilgrim will help attain liberation from the cycle of birth and death or Moksha. All along the route, pilgrims get to enjoy places of scenic and spectacular natural beauty that cannot be found anywhere else.

It is to be noted that the number of pilgrims who undertake this journey, more than two million and this includes those from the country and abroad. Due to the large influx of people, the Central Government, as well as the State Government, have opened various types of infrastructure such as air, road and rails facilities, improved highways and also medical care provisions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s